Life in the fast lane

Early blip today because I can't imagine that I'll have anything more exciting to share with you all.

I had to go out this AM to drop the sample at the surgery. I decided that while I was out I'd go to Halfords to get my reversing light fixed and to talk to them about replacing the wireless with a DAB unit. First up, their techie bloke has left and his replacement can only fit dashcams at the moment so there is nobody to talk to about a new radio.

I used their parts finder and it pointed out the appropriate bulb for going backwards. Then the comedy gold. The fitter came out and asked which bit of the lights was the reversing light. I pointed out that I'd never seen it because it's like licking your own elbow, it can't be done without someone else. He went and asked a mate who was working on the vehicle next to mine (the image above) and his mate came over, sucked his teeth, and pointed at a cluster, "It'll be that one I think". SO my guy went in - lots of tools and finding that he had the wrong screwdriver and so forth but finally he had the light cluster out. Then he decided that the cluster only had LEDs and they don't do LEDs. I pointed out that their parts finder had offered the bulbs he was holding but he suggested that the system might be wring "Because it's a French car". Hard to argue with that kind of logic really. Both of the guys hanging the bike carrier in the blip came over to offer words of advice but we clearly were not getting anywhere so I suggested that we put the car back together and call it a draw.

I've just got home and downloaded a copy of the manual - the bulb goes in a different place all together, one of the little red things below the bumper, one of the things I'd suggested but the older fitter suggested was just a reflector. I think that they had the bike carrier upside down too but I wasn't going to get involved. Now I know where the bulb goes I'll call in again when I next have to go out, I can't cope with the excitement of going over there again today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.