FEVERFEW

Did a few chores this morning including a load of washing.  Good job I didn't hang it outside as it started raining very heavily this afternoon.  I needed to go to the Co-op ( I had a £5 voucher that was almost out of date )  but I hung on to see if the rain would stop.  It didn't so I headed out anyway.

I took a short cut through the allotments - its a good route as there are lots of overhanging trees and bushes so you don't get wet when you walk underneath.  I met one of the allotment holders - Henry - on my way through.  I wasn't expecting anyone to be around due to the rain.  He said he had come to water his indoor tomatoes.  Ive seen him around before and we often have a quick chat but today he seemed to want to talk for longer.  I learned a bit more about him - hes 91 years old, a widower, his family were showmen and he worked in fairgrounds when he was younger.  We both used to live in Swalwell so we reminisced about that.  We chatted for about 40 mins.  Then he went off home to have his tea and I carried on to the Co-op.

Took my blip shot before exiting the allotments. There are a lot of feverfew plants in the hedgerows.  Thanks to BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday.

Hadn't gone very far when I met my neighbour Jo.  She has a dog walking business and she had a few dogs with her - including two of her own.  The rain had eased by now so we stopped to have a chat.  Her Dad has just passed away so that was the main topic of conversation.  Nice to see her and have a catch up.

Then - finally - onwards to the Co-op.  It wasn't very busy so I had a nice leisurely look around. 

The rain had stopped completely when I walked home. 

Unpacked the shopping - as well as two boxes of things which had arrived while I was out and had been put in my " safe place ".  

Steps today - 9,385

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.