milkweed

I looked through my blip photos and not every single one is of my garden. 

At the former-golf-course-now-native-plant-park there was milkweed. I didn't know what milkweed was, but suddenly wondered if this was it and my iPhone said it was. My mother-in-law asked how it smelled and I had no idea. There is a milkweed plant that Samuel and I walk by so now I can tell you it smells very sweet. 

My day was lovely. The positive things I did yesterday seemed to take. 

I found out a neighbor (not next door, but in our infested complex) has mice, including little ones. She doesn't feed birds. She hasn't had a dog for a decade. I sprayed more repellent and am grateful for my ultrasound devices. 

At the beginning of the pandemic our refrigerator began leaking. It is terribly irritating to step in cold water in your bare feet or socks. We wanted to avoid Covid and only now were getting around to addressing it. There are many YouTube videos on fixing it but it requires moving the frig, and it is too heavy for me to move, so I decided we might as well have someone in here to fix it. 

Yeah, too late. It broke this afternoon. The problem with cooking is now you have food in your frig. Hooray for good neighbors. 

On the bright side, we have a holiday coming up. We'd already decided what frig to buy when the repair failed. We got one on sale. 

Russia had some fantasies that they would be greeted with open arms. Russia has captured some territory in the south but it is hard to hold territory when everyone there hates you. There have been a trio of assassination attempts on pro-Russian officials over the past two weeks. US officials say the resistance could grow. 

In Mariupol the Russians are making increasing statements about joining Russia, but every day more Ukrainian flags and inscriptions appear. 

Ukraine started sending electricity to Romania. A Ukrainian official said they have the potential to export up to 2.5 GW of electricity to Europe. 

A group of Russian wives of Russian soldiers fighting in Ukraine have issued a video demanding that their husbands be returned from "the unjust war." They are a dozen women in eastern Siberia. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.