First Flight

I'm afraid the only Silly aspect to my Saturday blip is that I didn't take the picture; my daughter did. There was one very excited little girl up early this morning, and the first to the gate as they set off for a week in Menorca. There were a few happy jumps up and down, but her excitement was otherwise quite contained and mature, though she did tell me proudly "Me going on me holidays".

Before she left she asked me to look after the (guinea) piggies and feed the "fip" (fish). (We are house-sitting.) She also reminded me, "Do your "depth"*, Granny!" (*Fitbit steps). We followed their flight from Birmingham, watching a plane icon online crossing over Oxford, Milton Keynes, the English Channel, and France ... Isn't technology amazing?!

Among other photos, there was one of LMB looking at a book about flying on an aeroplane for the first time. It was written by fellow children's poet and author Tony Mitton. How I'd have loved to tell him how his book helped prepare her for the flight (that she loved). Sadly, he died just last month. RIP TM - your words live on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.