The Way I See Things

By JDO

Snackish

It poured with rain all morning and part of the afternoon - which, to be fair, the garden definitely needed - and it was after 3pm when I finally made it outside. In the steamy heat the air was seething with insects, which as you'd imagine made me very happy.

Best of all, because we've had so few Odonata here this season, was this male Azure Damselfly, who having taken up an observation post on a big clump of montbretia leaves, rose up every minute or so to pluck a little fly out of the air, before settling again to eat it. I couldn't help feeling a bit sorry for his victims, who after all were just trying to get on with their own lives, but I certainly wasn't about to discourage him from hunting in my garden. As soon as I'd secured a few photos I backed away respectfully and left him to his business, hoping that he'd decide to stay, and maybe with luck find a mate and deposit the next generation of eggs in one of our ponds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.