Aunty May and the Rolling Stones

I actually took this photo yesterday when we had just been to buy Cornish pasties for lunch. I could have taken the same photo today, but with everything closed up it would not have been nearly as interesting. Aunty May’s is regarded as the best place in Newlyn to buy Cornish pasties and,  judging by the ones we have had and with the way they sell out quickly, I think this might be true. I like the way they sell a ‘cocktail’ size pasty as I find a full sized one far too big. 

Anyway, the real reason for this picture is to show a bit of old Newlyn. This road is The Coombe, as the river Coombe runs opposite the buildings. I was actually standing on the bridge over the river to take the picture. The Coombe became the centre of the fish trade when Newlyn was at its peak and these buildings were the fish stores for the various merchants, in fact the Stevensons, which is the quayside shop where we buy fish, still has a warehouse here. Further up there is a block of flats which was once the Newlyn Pilchard Works. And it was only fairly recently that some of the fish stores were converted into Newlyn Filmhouse, a great place. 

More fish for Sunday lunch - I think we have managed fish every day - well, one does round here. But we will be back here tomorrow to get Cornish pasties for our journey as we set off for home in the morning. 

Extra
There is a lot to be said for sitting on a promenade in the sunshine, reading a book, watching the waves and the ever-changing colours on the water. 

And then Joanne and Greg, hot from Wimbledon, are currently at a Rolling Stones gig in Hyde Park. Amusing really to think that when I was in the Sixth form in Bradford in the late sixties we were invited to a Technical College (or maybe they had just become a University in 1966) disco (or whatever they were called then). The Rolling Stones were playing and somehow I got all their autographs. I am told that these might be quite valuable as I have the original line up, including the ones now long gone. Strange to think of how the past and the present sometimes meet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.