Beewriter

By Beewriter

Cross Country

It was another busy Wednesday.

We hosted our invitation cross country event this afternoon. As we are on the doorstep of the woods we have a great course that trails through the woods and over streams. It is much more exciting than running round school fields. I always take the pics and usually roam around but as we didn't have enough marshals I had to don a fluorescent jacket and stand at position 3.

I felt a bit of a plonker standing on my own with a camera for two hours. When people walked by I felt I had to explain why I was just standing there. I was also a bit nervous because I'm scared of dogs. I am a lot better than I used to be but I don't like a dog running towards me. The first thing people do is let their dog off the lead and let it run, "He won't hurt you," they shout. It probably won't but I don't like it running at me, jumping on me or barking at me. I had three hairy moments...with three huge dogs...but I survived.

My marshal point was by the lake and the heron was wading in the middle of the water. I did have my telephoto lens but didn't have a chance to take any pics, so I will go back another time.

I took over two hundred pics so I will have plenty to choose from when I put a piece on the website tomorrow. I took a great pic of one of the parents but I forgot to ask her if I could use it on blip so I chose this one of the two anonymous girls. Our runners were as high as kites when they went home because we were the overall winners...Yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.