pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Viva Burgers

With their mother off on a work function, the children were with me for an extra night this week.

They were collected fairly early which left me the morning to simply potter about and make a start on the finishing touches of decoration to the rear of the house. This meant a quick run to the local paint store to buy more Osmo for the doors, whereupon the lady behind the till wanted to check that I had bought this before as she didn’t want to have to worry about me having a heart attack when the bill came. Thoughtful.

The pottering and painting continued for most of the day until late afternoon when I had company and we headed out for one of the tastiest burgers I’ve ever had - can’t believe I’ve never been to Pappy’s Smokehouse before - and would recommend to anyone (maybe not a vegetarian).

Following this we headed up to the Brewery Arts Centre for a viewing of Elvis. Whilst I enjoyed the film, it was a bit like being taken on a whistle-stop tour and seeing places and things of interest to you, but not being given any time to take them in, such is the frenetic pace of the film. But it was a Bad Luhrmann joint, so you kind of know what you’re letting yourself in for and the two and a half hours whizzed by. 

We were both pleased as Elvis’ Vegas rendition of Suspicious Minds (my favourite) featured heavily - try and find the video of it and watch Elvis’ delight as the drummer tries to keep pace near the end of the song - and In The Ghetto (her favourite) played out over the end credits.

A very lovely day. Thankyouverymuch.

<insert hip wiggle here>

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.