Barkly Homestead Roadhouse

Great excitement today, we made a left hand turn so we are now heading east across the middle of the NT towards Queensland. See map. We traversed low hills with smaller trees and more of the type of vegetation we saw in central Australia, mulgas and ghostgums. 

I saw a lone cow, then a mob of about 6 cows. We passed just one roadside settlement of a service station with food / accommodation. The road signs amuse me. The next milepost ( kilometres ) was 370 QLD as there were no towns along the way. Tonight we are at the Barkly Homestead Roadhouse which is depicted on the post card I bought. It is lying on Bob’s jumper which is the same colour as the earth around here. The Barkly Tableland is one of the geographical areas you hear about on the weather or news, it is a rolling plain of grassland taking up 21% of the NT. It has cattle properties and a population of 6330. The area is 320,000 square kilometres in size. 

I have slept most of the afternoon as I have an unsettled tummy. Not surprising getting a bit sick on a trip like this. 

I finished another book yesterday which was a fantastic holiday read. Called The Great Escape from the Woodlands Nursing Home. It had me laughing from the first sentence. A group of 90 year olds playing up in their nursing home, written by a doctor. 

I also posted a backblip for yesterday. We have no phone here but reasonable internet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.