Home is good…

It’s been an interesting 24 hours.
My friend duly arrived at 11 o’clock yesterday and asked whether I thought I’d be able to get into her car. She has a camper van which she debated about bringing. All I knew was we’d been told we should get into a normal car OK; I don’t recall the physio mentioning getting out again!
A porter whizzed me down in a wheelchair and gave directions on getting into the car. It sure looked a long way down! But it was fine and I enjoyed the ride around looking up through the windscreen which seemed way above me. We went to the Bridge where there is a pharmacy open on a Sunday then while they made up the prescription she went off to get me a couple of bags of Maltesers to keep me company once I got home.
Then we set off for lunch. Jo had just returned from France the day before and she said she had some leftover bits of cheese we could have. Leftover cheese? She laid out a table with seating for eight people and when she’d finished it was groaning with cheese, pâté, salad, baguette, you name it. And a chilled bottle of French cider. Jo’s Mama joined us and we passed a lovely 3 hours in the sunshine. And so I got a bit of a top up of Vitamin D which must make it a medical lunch.
Getting out and in the car was no problem by the way…
Then Jo dropped me off home and made sure I was happy and confident. I was but decided that I ought to brave the stairs straight away. I knew I could get up and down normal straight stairs like in the hospital with no problems but these have twists so that some treads are triangular going to nothing and are steep enough that I feel crampons might be appropriate. I concentrated on making sure I was close enough to the centre of the tread to get more than just a toe on but that meant the spare crutch couldn’t get round the corner and whacked the wall. 
I now only take the second crutch upstairs with me if I really need it up there. If I’m just popping up for a quick wee I travel single crutched!
But all seems to be fine. I still have no hip pain. I was a bit stiff in the morning because I did’ t have a late night co-codamol. I forgot to take then upstairs with me and didn’t fancy negotiating my way down in the middle of the night. I’ll know better tonight.
This morning another friend brought around some fruit so it was nice to have company again. I think they’re all worried I might just set off up the hills or steps around here. Do they not realise how lazy I’ve become.
So now I’m sitting watching repeats of GPs Behing Closed Doors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.