Kit's Year

By Kit267

I Didn’t Buy Anything, Tempted Though I Was

We decided to visit Barter Books first thing for sister-in-law to take some books to barter! She got a very credible £58 (credit note) for them. Unfortunately she couldn’t use the credit in the cafe for our breakfast, but even at full price it was worth it. We lost a good 2 hours there but I didn’t buy anything, tempted though I was.

From there we headed to Amble via Warkworth to go to the fish market and to visit the Hauxley nature reserve. Unfortunately we forgot both binoculars and zoom lens for my camera. They were kind enough to lend us binoculars (no luck with the lens though!). The reserve was originally part of an open-cast mine but is now owned by the wildlife trust and we were lucky enough to see plovers, coot, moorhen and curlew.

We went back to the cottage to have lunch and collect the dogs and we went to explore Alnmouth. After a wander around the town we left Dad heading to a cafe while my brother and I took the dogs onto the beach for a walk and sister-in-law went for a run. We got back about an hour later to find Dad sat at the golf club sharing a pint and a chat with a fellow golfer who he had got chatting to whilst he was there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.