Upstairs to the sky

The demolition work began in earnest today and for health and safety reasons I am no longer allowed into my own house the building site without permission from the site manager and wearing PPE. I've stashed my hard hat and steel-toe-capped boots in a waterproof box in next door's front garden but I don't want to disrupt the builders' work, so I won't go in more often than I feel I need to.

This is a view from the hall to where the first floor at the back has gone. The extra is the kitchen at mid-day. I suspect there's very much less of it this evening but I didn't go back to look.

I've now started posting to the Blip journal I set up 2½ years ago to record this whole process but which most of the time I have felt too dejected to use. I hope I can keep it up and make it an interesting record of the conversion of an 1867 house into something fit for whatever future our stupid, irresponsible species has left.

In other news - I have been selected for interview for the job I applied for yesterday evening. That was quick!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.