Life belt

My temporary attic flat is on a main road opposite some mature trees. As I sit at my door/desk I can see the Thames towpath through a well-placed gap. I'm sure the view is clearer in winter but I hope I don't get to find out.

It didn't fully sink in yesterday, despite seeing the first aid kit and fire extinguishers attached to the living room wall in 'my' house, how very seriously my builders are taking health and safety. Today I registered that it's not going to be straightforward to visit the building site so I started pursuing the possibility of getting a CSCS card (the construction health and safety card, without which it is illegal to work on a building site). Not so long ago in my very varied career, I was going to train people for the CSCS test but that idea fell through so today I have been doing some online practice tests without bothering, since I do already know a certain amount about construction health and safety, to read up on the course content. The pass mark is 90% (life matters). At my first attempt I got 77%. The second was 82% and the third was 92%. I'll do a few more practice tests across various providers until I'm confident that I'll pass when I take the real thing. Whether that will make me any more welcome in the house I don't know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.