Emperor dragonfly over the pond at the Green Shop

I went to check on getting an MOT at the garage which is part of the Green Shop group in Bisley. 

I parked next to the small pond that the owners had built some years ago. I'd spotted the water lilies looking pretty in the sun. When I stood at the edge of the pond I saw damselflies flitting about around the lilies, and then got chatting to another customer. He mentioned that he had seen a dragonfly there previously.

Within a minute one appeared and flew round and round above the pond which had a flowform swirling water around to freshen it up. I only had my macro lens on my camera but had a go at snapping the dragonfly. I'm pleased to see that I got this reasonably sharp image with the shop in the background. I gather it is may be an Emperor dragonfly.

In previous years I blipped a dragonfly hatching from its exoskeleton on the reeds in the background before flying away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.