'Gladys' of Harwich in the dry dock at Gloucester

I spotted the masts of this ship a week or so ago when passing Gloucester Docks and determined to return to look more closely. Today I went back to Gloucester to buy my fresh tofu which gets delivered every Wednesday to an Asian emporium I frequent.

I then drove the short distance to the dock area and found a parking place, which turned out to be rather expensive and I couldn't afford more than a few minutes stay as I didn't have much change.

There were quite a few wooden sailing boats in the main dock close to the boatyard of T. Neilsen, the renowned traditional boat builder and repairer. When I got close to one of the their dry docks I saw that the boat I'd come to see was nearly complete and looked very good afloat again.

The man in the dinghy was checking the rudder and its related equipment was working properly, which I presume was why the rear sail was rigged as it must be used for steering. I asked him when the boat would be leaving and he said 'Soon. By the middle of July.' It will return south along the canal to Sharpness docks where it will return to the sea in the Bristol channel. I hope I can watch it travel down the canal and maybe even as it leaves Sharpness docks.

There is a lot of information about 'Gladys' and its history, with some more pictures, here on the T. Neilsen website. Below is a short extract from the website.

Sailing Barge GLADYS’ History
GLADYS is a Spritsail Barge built in 1901 by Cann, John & Herbert, Harwich. Her first owners were William Thomas Whitmore, Harwich (master mariner with 48 shares) and John Howard (master mariner with 16 shares) of Shoeburyness, but in 1902 she was sold to John Lesley Whitemore, Colne, Lancashire, although John Howard remained the master. 

In 1912, she was sold to Cranfields Flour Mills of Ipswich who operated her as bulk grain cargo vessel until 1972. An engine was fitted in the early 1950s, along with a wheelhouse, but otherwise she remained relatively unchanged during this time. 

During the 1970s, GLADYS was converted to a pleasure yacht and has since been used for corporate entertainment. GLADYS arrived at our Gloucester shipyard after being transported from Brightlingsea to Sharpness Docks in the towed, sea-going barge TERRA MARIQUE.


PS Seen in the distance behind the dinghy slung from the deck of the vessel is Gloucester Cathedral.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.