IT'S WIDE WEDNESDAY

Y'all know what this is.......first cousin to the horse and Wild Ass. Although the frame is in portrait position, this zebra is pretty wide-in-the-beam.  
~
All those muscles can generate a lot of force. Even though lions prey on them in their natural habitat, there have been many cases of zebra killing lions.....typically by a swift, powerful kick to the head. The lion might be killed outright or eventually starve to death from a broken jaw.
~
I can testify to how hard equids can kick. I've never been zebra kicked but I have been mule kicked...both hind feet straight to the chest. Imagine a very young me flying six feet through the air and landing on my kuester in the mud. Good thing I was far enough away that I didn't get the full force of the kick or I might have been severely injured. One of the perils of working on the farm.
~
Wide enough for W-I-D-E Wed?  You decide.
~
Best in Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.