An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Tools of the trade...

I edited the photos I took yesterday of Fiona's painting before going to bed last night and emailed a choice of six shots to her.  She replied this morning advising me of her chosen shot.  I emailed the full size file to her and it was with her printer in Edinburgh by mid morning, being printed and couriered out to her by this evening!  She certainly doesn't let the grass grow!  lol

The final bits and bobs for my drawing course arrived today.  The first module on the syllabus is Graphite pencils.  That medium will be explored for four weeks and by the end of that time I will have produced 4 drawings, three of which the tutor sets the content and the fourth one I chose the content for myself.

There's a private forum for participants of the course, which I have joined.  Not posted anything yet but from what I have seen, it's a warm, welcoming and supportive community.  Everyone seems keen to help, share their experiences of the course and answer any questions.  

Some of the art work shared is outstanding and I had a little wobble for a moment, wondering if I had maybe bitten off more than I can chew, but I have watched the three introductory sessions and as Phil (the tutor) says, the only person we need to compare ourselves to is ourselves and he's right.  All I want to do is get better at drawing, it doesn't matter if I am worse or better than anyone else as long as I am learning and improving my own skills.

I had planned to start the actual module today but by the time I watched the introductory videos and gathered the materials, time had run away with me, so I have done as Phil suggests and put two hour chunks of time in my diary to make sure I have the time.  I am treating it as if I had to physically attend an art class at college, to ensure I carve out the time.

With that in mind I've just remembered I need my slanted drawing board, which is rather large and on top of a high shelf, so will go and clear my desk to make way for it as David will have to get it down for me tonight, as he's off at the crack of dawn tomorrow to the Scottish Open at North Berwick!

And here was me thinking I was organised!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.