Eryngium planum

self seeded, and doing a grand job.
An early start on the allotment, plants water thoroughly as hot hot hot weather ahead, tied in the young gherkins to the hazel wigwam. Lifted the last of my onions and laid them out to dry in the sunshine. Cut a bunch of sweetpeas, lavender, & Love-in-the-mist seed heads for Mum. The sweet peas smell heavenly. Seed I salvaged from my allotment neighbour, Stuart. Lovely long stems, much better than last years pickings. I lifted potatoes, cut my courgettes, picked some Rainbow chard, & broad beans. Walked up to the town to fetch the paper, then back home & into the greenhouse. I potted up the purple honesty seedlings, 30 of those, done. Next potted on a couple of Tithonia I purchased during our Chudleigh open Gardens weekend, then it was time to drive down to CK to walk Indie. Not as long as usual as it was getting hot, & I needed to nip into Tesco's to sort my phone contract which had expired. First though I had to retrieve the food from Alison's freezer, which she had kindly found room for earlier in the week when Mum's freezer packed up. Tesco's was pleasantly quiet,  I did Mum's shop, plus picked up a few bits for myself. Back to Mum's, a Belgian chocolate eclair each (How did they jump in  my trolley?) & coffee. Then back home to Mr Happy ............... :-( Made lunch, then got myself comfy for the men's tennis semi-final. I topped n tailed my latest gooseberry picking 7lb. Do I give them away or do I make jam for pressies. I'm making jam for Xmas pressies. There are still more gooseberries & blackcurrants to pick, & blueberries ready for picking tomorrow I reckon.  So satisfying!
I'm off to make dinner now. Home grown spuds, salmon with a homemade fresh dill, wholegrain mustard, Swedish mustard, honey, & breadcrumb crust, roasted toms on the vine, & the first courgettes.

Thanks to BikerBear/Anni for hosting Flower Friday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.