Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Waiting for Mama

We went back to Walmart for our refrigerator food this morning.  As we were walking in, I caught motion in my peripheral vision.  It was a mother Cliff Swallow leaving the nest she made on top of a light fixture near the roof.  All I had was my phone and I couldn't get a shot even though she perched nearby for a moment.  Then I looked up at the nest and saw three adorable faces.  (They look a lot sharper in large.) It must be getting pretty crowded in there!  Unusual to see a nest away from a colony, especially in a parking lot.  The parents must be antisocial! ;-)

It's already in the 90s(F) but all I have left to do is inside the somewhat cooler house.  (We're definitely getting central A/C before next summer!!)  Then after sunset, we'll bring the rest of our stuff out to the camper. 

I am grateful that we got up early and got everything done outside before it got too hot.  Also grateful that we won't have to do anything tomorrow when it's forecast to be 102F (about 39C).  Becky invited us for an early dinner tomorrow so we won't have to cook.  She has A/C, so it will be nice to escape to her house!  

Thank you to everyone for all the stars and hearts you've left on my blips.  They are all appreciated very much!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.