Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Immature blackbird

I met this immature - and, frankly, rather gormless - young blackbird on my way home from the sparrowhawks this morning.  I was out with a couple of good friends amongst the birders because, thrill of thrills, the young hawks have started to practise flying.  They are still being fed by mum and dad and I got some quite nice pics of mum, but the young were determined not to give us a clear sightline and then the sky clouded over.  If I have the energy I will go out again early tomorrow.

Meanwhile, this little love made me smile quite a lot.  At this age young blackbirds and robins, etc, never get out of the way quite fast or far enough.  Here I was practically within touching distance.

Apart from that a nice Saturday.  I had meant to dead-head the roses, but somehow I didn't.  I shall have to do it soon.

Hope you've all had a fun Saturday. Wishing you a happy evening and a good Sunday too  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.