Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Vetch and vetchling

Early this morning I walked across to the reserve to check on the young sparrowhawks.  People have been saying there were three in the nest but I only ever saw two, and today my version has become the general consensus amongst the few birders still following them.  In extras is the best shot I look of the female adolescent - not great, but I wanted a record of my two and a half hours standing about!  There is also a male juvenile, much smaller than the female but we saw little of him.  Ah, well, tomorrow is another day.

So on the way back I look the two shots in main.  The yellow is Meadow Vetchling, Lathyrus pratensis.  It's growing in the reserve.  The purple is Tufted Vetch, Vicia cracca, which I found in Hilliers Haven when I was nearly home.  Goodness, can we really be onto WFW15?  How the summer flies by..

Such a beautiful hot day.

Enjoy your evening - and I hope the week starts well for you  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.