Northern Isles Day 12

Northern Isles Day 12

Our overnight stop by a little lochan near Nesting was very peaceful as our nose was into the wind.

We got some supplies at the Co-op then I went to the Textile Museum while Mr C read the Guardian. The museum was small but interesting, in an old building. The rooms were small and there were a few visitors which made it uncomfortable Covid-wise. (Val at home has Covid - got it from Ray who got it at the golf club. And while Gill is feeling better her husband now has it).

After that Mr C dropped me at Jamieson and Smith for a look round but I wasn’t inspired. I walked down to Jamiesons and got lots of helpful advice. I had found a jacket pattern I liked but didn’t care for the colour combinations. It’s a tricky business changing them but the young Canadian assistant was excellent. She checked the colours were the right tone and had the necessary contrast then wrote out the changes for me. It’s a complicated pattern and will take a long time to knit as it’s years since I knitted a whole adult garment all in Fair Isle. A challenge for the winter!

My foot is really painful so I was glad to get back to the van. Mr C decided he wanted to park near the Mousa boat departure place as we won’t get back till 1 am or so, and I’ll not fancy walking any more than I have to.

My data allowance had gone already despite me thinking I was being careful. How can I have used 2G in a few days? It’s a mystery as I’m not downloading films or anything. I’ll just pay the excess to blip but I’ll suffer withdrawal from WhatsApp and FaceTime not to mention BBC Sounds when I wake in the night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.