Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

I slept well and so was able to take a morning wander about the village. I found these tiny snails estivating in whole families. I've not seen that before – in Greece we just had very large solitary individuals.
I also zoomed in on this rather attractive detail incorporated at the eaves of local roofs. Whilst Greek roofs are very similar, I've never seen this detail before. And having zoomed in closely, I see that the local builders have deterred nesting birds by using tiny little bars, which no doubt will assist with roof cavity ventilation. In Greece those holes were generally blocked up with blobs of cement, though it was rarely completely air-tight.
After the local teenagers had spent lunchtime in the square by the fountain bouncing a basket ball (though they appear to have no basket) and the regular older folk had come to exchange their stories after the sun had moved around enough to be clear of the seats by the fountain, I heard this grandmother introducing a toddler the joy of flowing water.
Images are not in chronological order, though the text is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.