Mavisbank

The morning was beautiful, and I'd hoped to go away for the weekend, but my camping stove was in A's missing suitcase, so I just went for a walk with Django from Polton to Lasswade and back. This took in Mavisbank, the decaying architectural gem I've Blipped before. A friend on Instagram pointed out that it was built with profits from slave plantations, so I guess that cancels any attempt to restore it.

Whilst I was out, A rang to say that the suitcase has been found and would be delivered, possibly today, more probably tomorrow. I just had to be in to receive it. So, I could forget going out meaningfully tomorrow.

Back home, I watched the very entertaining women's tennis final - I was for Rybakina, as I'm ashamed of the prejudice against Russians at the tournament. Russia and Russian aren't the same thing. Then the suitcase arrived!

So, with my stove and lightweight cooking pot restored, I set off to the Southern Highlands. Unfortunately the forecast was right, and it clouded over as the sun went down, so I had some real navigation to do to reach my planned camp site - beside a lochan at 600m.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.