Failed to hide

Today I had a new course for my jog. Instead of going up hill on Huia Road to Woodlands Park village, I went the other way to the Tangiwai Reserve. It is mainly a grassed piece of land between the road, and a creek. There is a small playground for little children, and one picnic table.next to an offroad park for about six or so cars. 

I can't quite work out why the reserve should have the name Tangiwai, which translates as 'Weeping waters'. The City council gives no information other than it is a small reserve.

For many people my age and a little younger the word is inextricably linked to 'disaster'. In December 1953, a lahar flowed from Ruapehu into the Tangiwai river sending a wall of water downstream and collapsing part of the viaduct over which runs the main railway line connecting Auckland to Wellington. The night express crashed into the river with a loss of 151 people. 

Perhaps something affected the local tangata whenua many years ago here, leading to this name being used. If I find out more, I will update.

When I was in the reserve, I saw two pairs of Eastern Rosella. The other three birds all successfully disappeared into trees and I lost sight of them. Presuming that the one in today's blip was also intending to hide, it failed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.