exiled

By grasshopper6

Kissing

Is a cultural thing. If you go to a southern European country you'll soon realise that, suddenly, perceptions about personal space change. People are much closer to each other (physically) and there is a lot of touch. You walk in the street and you bump into someone you know. There isn't the almost imperceptible nod with the head in acknowledgement, or the shy greeting with a smile. There you get the full works: Big beaming smile, shouted greeting, and sonorous kisses on both cheeks. Even if you'd just met five minutes ago and already went the full hog.

It took me quite a while to realise this wasn't the thing to do here. I was puzzled when people seemed to jump two paces backwards whenever I approached them. Once, a very good friend of mine avoided me for two weeks when my parents were visiting. Apparently he was terrified that he would have to kiss them if he saw them...

Now I am the one who jumps two paces backwards. My life in England is less puzzling. But it is somehow a bit sadder for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.