IT'S MONDAY AGAIN!

I’m sure I don’t need to tell you where I was this morning!

It was already hot when I picked up Dianne, a friend who is also a volunteer at The Community Fridge, and there was a lot of produce to get out and arrange once we arrived, so we just got on with it. People were already queuing up outside before 10 o’clock and the doors don’t open until 11 but there was a little shade so thankfully, they weren’t out in the full sun.

We had just over 100 people through the doors of The Community Fridge today although we didn’t have quite so many in the café, which was a shame because there were some lovely gateaux left over from yesterday’s lunch.  However, we did manage to persuade several people to have a slice of the indulgent chocolate cake - and they all said how much they enjoyed it.

Steve and Christine popped into the café - for the last time - and of course, everyone was pleased to see them before they finally move away in the next couple of days.  Rather them than me - I dread ever having to move and most Ministers I know have enough books to stock a library and I doubt Steve is any different!

There were no really grotty jobs for me this morning so I was mainly on kitchen and dishwasher duties.  However, I have to say the “quick” dishwasher didn’t do a brilliant job on chocolatey plates so I ended up doing them by hand first and then putting them through the dishwasher afterwards.

I asked these two lovely ladies, Karen and Linda, if they would mind being part of my Blip today - and they agreed. They have been volunteering since January and are great, not only in the kitchen but also chatting to people in the café. The both have bubbly personalities and are a joy to be around and are willing to do any jobs they are asked to do.

It’s amazing how all the volunteers are so different and yet we all seem to get on well together. Thankfully, Heather and Julie, two of the organisers, along with Vicki and Debs are around to guide us and sort out any issues or questions relating to produce etc and to motivate and encourage us all.

I’m now at home with my feet up, a cup of coffee and the fans going full belt, moving the warm air around - we’re just not used to this very hot weather!

“Wherever you turn, you can find someone who needs you; 
     even if it is a little thing, 
          do something for which there is no pay 
               but the privilege of doing it. 
Remember, you don’t live in a world 
     all of your own.”
Albert Schweitzer : 1875-1965

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.