100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 83

After having my shower, quite early for me, I decided to play around with this bubble gel spiral dripper, which belonged to one of our sons.  I wanted to see if I could get an abstract shot, which I knew shouldn’t be too difficult, and it’s quite mesmerising to watch the gel drip and spiral to the bottom.

If only I could be satisfied with the first or second shot, my life would be so much easier - but being a woman I need to keep going to see if I can get a good shot and then an even better one than the best one and you get my drift - who could put their hand up and say they have never done that?

Almost one hundred shots later - and I know this because my iPhone told me that it was uploading 92 photographs - and I took a few more after that - I still have to take another one or two just to see if they are better than all those and so it went on until I had to say “enough is enough”!

So this shot, just fartnarkled a little in Snapseed to bring out the colours a little more - if you look closely, you can see a little bit of my pink robe - is Number 83 in my 100 Abstracts for the Mamie Martin Fund, which provides secondary school education for impoverished girls in North Malawi.

Without the help from this fund, many girls would never have a secondary school education but when they do, they really make the most of it.  Many of them go on to university, obtain their degree and then go back to their family and community, become wonderful role models and make a huge difference.  

I wonder how many young people in our society go back to their family and community?  Many of them meet someone at university and then forge a new life together in a different community, which is good, but for Malawian girls, they tend to want to make a difference in their own community and you will have read about some of them in previous Blips that I have done.

I don’t want to say too much about what will be happening tonight, but it won’t have escaped your notice that there is a big match on at 8 o’clock and I’m sure it will be a nail-biting experience for many millions of people and I doubt there will be much social distancing!  

We have been invited over to our son and daughter-in-law’s to watch it - not sure I will watch every minute of the game, but I’m sure it will be entertaining just to listen to Mr. HCB, our son, Martyn and his son, Joshua.  I have promised I won’t ask any stupid questions and Martyn has said he will get pizzas in - I daresay those making them won’t have time to stop and watch!  I will probably be driving, so that Mr. HCB can have an alcoholic drink - although he won’t drink much because he’s off to cricket again tomorrow and for the rest of the week.

Have a great day, whatever you do - but if you aren’t a football fan, there won’t be much else on the television this evening or in tomorrow’s newspapers so a good book might be a good idea!

“We always have to believe 
     in what is possible in life 
          and not be hindered by
               history or expectations.”
Gareth Southgate

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.