SUNFLOWERS ON SILLY SATURDAY

Silly Saturday has become so much part of my Blip life that even though dear Admirer is not here to host it any longer, when I set off on my walk this morning, I was wondering what I could find that would make her giggle!  I wonder how many other Blippers do the same?

I’ve been quite busy one way and another this week, so haven’t been out walking much, so after I had been out to buy the Saturday newspapers for us and our neighbours, I decided to go for a walk over to “my field”.  

The grass is much longer so my feet got quite wet and the wild flowers, particularly the thistles around the periphery of the field have grown tremendously - in fact, some of them are taller than me!  Apples are forming on the beautiful tree in my little sanctuary, although many have dropped, but they weren’t quite big enough to bring home to make an apple pie!

I carried on wandering, singing and praying and only saw a couple of people, but you know me, I don’t let that stop me from singing.  I found quite a few tree trunks with faces, so took shots of those but somehow they weren’t quite what I wanted.

And then on my way home past the houses that are near the field, I saw these beautiful sunflowers, standing tall and way above the 6 feet wall, so with my selfie stick extended, I was able to take lots of shots of them.  The sky looked great and as I took the first shot, the song that was playing was "There is a Day" by a group called Phatfish, and the actual words playing at 0.49 were “…..Once only flesh, Now clothed with immortality, Death has now been Swallowed up in victory” and I must admit, thinking of Admirer, I had a tear in my eye.  

So once again, this is in honour of dear Admirer - and although these sunflowers aren’t really silly, I hope they would make her smile.

Such is the wonderful world of Blip that even though I never met Admirer, I still think about her, especially on a Saturday, and her family, of course, who must miss her so much.  

“Keep your face to the sunshine 
     and you cannot see the shadows. 
          It's what the sunflowers do.”
Helen Keller

P.S.  You will never know what a lift you all gave me yesterday - I didn’t say anything, but I was feeling a little below par and wasn’t that happy with my photograph or journal entry, in fact, I nearly didn’t bother - and that’s not like me - but I had such lovely comments and so many stars and hearts - it is even on the first of the Popular page.  Thank you so much!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.