FRIENDS

After watching our live stream Church service, we popped over to visit our friends to take them some more lettuce, not only to eat, but also for Kathryn to plant in her new garden - see my Blip of 21st June.

We were also hoping to have a slice of Howard and Lillieth’s wedding anniversary cake, because when I saw a photograph of it on Facebook, I jokingly said how good it looked and that we would call in for a slice and a cuppa after Church, to which Lillieth said we would be very welcome!  

We were impressed with how much Aaron and Kathryn had done on their garden and it’s looking good, with several strawberry plants already in there, so now they have eight lettuce plants that Mr. HCB has grown from seed.  He gave them instructions as to how to plant and water them and said that within about three weeks, they should be cutting their own lettuce.

We had a lovely chat with them all and I took several photographs - we do love this family and it was good to catch up with them to find out what is happening in their lives.

We then went for a short drive and did look for dereliction, but couldn’t find any so I decided to make a collage of this lovely family.  I took photographs of Aaron and Kathryn, in her home-made crochet sunhat, and then thought it would be good to have a family photograph too. 

It was so hot in the car, and we needed to be home for our afternoon tea with our next-door neighbours, so we didn’t stay out for very long and the prospect of a slice of Lillieth’s cake with a cup of coffee was very tempting and I have to say, it was delicious.  As usual, it was laced with Jamaican rum - and apparently, the fruit had been soaking in rum since last Christmas - and there was also rum in the royal icing on the top, so in Lillieth's words "A double whammy!"  I can tell you it was absolutely delicious.  I would ask for the recipe, but I know I wouldn’t make such a good job as Lillieth, so I will just let her make it!  She always gives us some of her Christmas cake and tells me that the fruit is already soaking for that - something to look forward to. 

I have decided I won’t be cooking tonight as we had toasted teacakes with jam, and then biscuits, prepared by Lynn, so and there might even be enough cake left to have with our mid-evening cup of coffee.  Mind you, I did tell Lillieth that I was going to ask several questions when I get to heaven - such as: 

1.  Why do we have wisdom teeth as Kathryn has been having lots of issues with hers?
2.  Why do we have an appendix - as it doesn’t seem to have any function? 
3.  Why are there more calories in a rich fruit cake with icing and a chocolate bar than in lettuce?

By the time I get there, I could have many more questions too, but those will do for starters!

“There is nothing better than a friend, 
     unless it is a friend with chocolate 
          (or even cake and toasted teacakes)!” 
Linda Grayson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.