THE FRUITS OF HIS LABOURS

I woke up with a sore throat and headache this morning so decided that I would have a lazy morning but in the event, I did some Domestic Goddess duties, which needed doing and which I've been putting off for sometime. 

Mr. HCB was up early, as usual, and brought in a handful of his produce, so I guess it will be a stirfry tonight - however, I will stew the rhubarb separately, just in case you thought I was completely loopy and use it in a stirfry!  I may even stew it up with some of the huge strawberries that came with my Waitrose order - they are almost as big as apples, but it’s my fault, I forgot to ask for small ones.

An old school friend of our younger son spent the morning cleaning the outside of the conservatory, which now looks pristine again - in fact, it is so bright that I commented on the fact that he was wearing his “sunnies”.  He said that he nearly always wears them when he is doing a large conservatory, as it can be very bright.  The windows now match the name of his company, Sunshine Windows, and it’s a very warm afternoon, so we are sitting in the cool of the lounge.  

In fact, I have just been for a walk round my field and feel quite tired now, so there might even be time for a little snooze before we meet the neighbours for afternoon tea.  

Although I had decided that my Blip today would be the produce from our garden, when I was out walking, I saw the two bees I’ve put in as an extra in a collage - they were really busy, and were covered in pollen - it was so interesting just to stand and watch them. 

Hope you have eased gently into your week - I understand that it’s due to be a good few days, weather-wise, with perhaps the odd shower, so I guess working in the garden may be on the cards - well, Mr. HCB will definitely be doing that and I may even do some more DG duties, if I feel like it.

“The glory of gardening: 
     hands in the dirt, 
          head in the sun, 
               heart with nature. 
To nurture a garden is to feed 
     not just the body, 
          but the soul.”
Alfred Austin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.