Eros Blue near Lej Languard

Another beautiful day up in the mountains, after a slow start. I had gone out last night to meet an old friend, which ended in a drink more than I am used to. I slept badly, and wasn’t feeling great this morning. So I opted for another not too taxing hike, took the chairlift up to Alp Languard and walked along the valley to a little lake at its end, called Lej Languard. 

Much of the path follows the little stream and some parts are waterlogged. Many butterflies drank on the wet path, like this Eros blue male. I am rather chuffed with the photo of this small butterfly.

But I met bigger and more exciting animals, too. Marmots again, and a herd of mainly Highland cattle, which was a bit odd in Switzerland - especially as they are wearing Swiss cow bells. And of course I had to walk between them and their impressive horns. 

At the lake, I took my binoculars out and looked for ibex on the surrounding mountainsides. This area around Piz Albris is known for them, but I didn’t get to see any.

So I went back into the valley, and up again to the Chamanna Paradis, a little restaurant with amazing views of the Bernina range and surrounding peaks. Sadly, it was absolutely packed, and there was already a queue of people waiting for free tables. 

I just took some pictures and went back to Alp Languard, where there’s another restaurant - which turned out to be just as popular, and just as full. 
It’s definitely peak season now. But I can’t complain, as I had the little lake and much of the valley all to myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.