Life Savors

By osuzanna

A Trip to the Aquatic Gardens

July is a great month in Washington DC for photography.  The sunflower fields are about to bloom and the Lotus and Lilys at the Aquatic Gardens have started to bloom.  Since we will be heading out on a road trip on Thursday, I thought I had better take advantage of this limited window for me to get over there.  

We had quite heavy rains here while I was away last week and many of the pathways were impassable without rubber boots.  The two large ponds near the entrance have very few Lotus plants.  It appears that they have pulled out many of the old plants and new ones have yet to grow.  The smaller back ponds had plenty of flowers, along with dragonflies.  Needless to say, they are what caught my eye and kept my camera and me busy.  I have loaded a Lotus into extra, but really, how many photos can you take of this flower!

Tiny Tuesday 372 is tomorrow.  Be sure to tag you image with #TT372.

I did notice a number of new people have joined in this challenge since I hosted last year.  If you are new to insect photography, I posted a tutorial in 2016 here on blip that may provide you with some tips on the best way to approach it.  It can be found HERE.  Start at the image on the far right (August 1 and proceed through August 5.) I have read it over again and it still seems to be applicable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.