Life Savors

By osuzanna

Ruby-Throated Hummingbird

I spent a delightful morning with the Hummingbirds. I had been there two weeks ago, and really struggled with autofocus so I was anxious to go back again when I had more time to really work through which was the best setting.  I finally solved it and realized that my back-button focusing, which I have used for years, was keeping me from getting the very best out of the amazingly fast autofocus and tracking on the A1.  These little guys are so fast that a fraction of a second makes all the difference when trying to get the focus to lock-on.  The back button focusing had never been a problem for me in any other setting so I was surprised.  It will be hard to teach an old dog new tricks. 

I do believe this is the first good capture I have had of a male with the throat color very prominent.

Be sure to check out the extra, a very lucky capture of two hummers bickering as they often do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.