Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Toad Trauma! (And A Blipmeet!)

My toad tales continue! (See yesterday’s blip!) I am not sure if toads are easily traumatised. But if they are, today would be the day.

I was leaving for a few days away in Alfie the Campervan, but before I left I REALLY wanted to finally get some begonias planted that I had bought the other day. So I was out in my garden very early this morning, ready to do that job.

I had a bag of half used compost and as I put my hand in the bag I soon saw that there was movement! There was a toad in there! I went to get something that would help me to carefully rescue it, and when I got back a few minutes later there were TWO toads looking up at me! I scooped them out and got them close to my pond so that they’d jump in, which they did. I went back to the bag of compost and soon found a third toad. Then a fourth, a fifth and finally a sixth!! Each one was progressively smaller. The last one was just the size of half my little finger! It’s a good thing that I’m not squeamish about amphibians! They all got safely rescued and eventually all jumped in my pond. I hope they’ll be happy in there and that the other toads are making them feel welcome!

I carried on with the planting and after a cleanup and a couple of other chores I was ready to leave. I stopped in Swindon on the way to where I was going and met up with my good blip-friends - the infamous Mrs HCB and Mr HCB. I had an enjoyable visit with them which included tea, a sandwich which I’d brought, a garden tour, and lots of conversation. See Extra photo for some beautiful flowers from their garden - there were also lettuces, beans, squashes, and strawberries.

When I left they walked me out to Alfie the Campervan, and they laughed at my sticker, making sure they got a selfie!

I continued my journey and didn’t have to go far. I ended up in Lacock at a favourite campsite, meeting up with several other Alphard owners there. We are all going to a special car event this weekend in nearby Castle Combe. No doubt there will be pictures in the next couple of days from that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.