Clifton Suspension Bridge - Another View

Don’t let this blue sky fool you - it rained most of the day - heavy at times. I had a (mostly outdoor) outing planned but kept putting it off because the weather app said it was going to stop raining soon. But then the app kept changing the forecast and in the end I just stayed at the campsite most of the day and enjoyed some reading time, with 15 minutes here and there sitting outside in the sun in between the bursts of rain.

Finally about 4pm it seemed that the rain was done for a few hours. So off I went, on different outing. I walked along the river Avon with the walls of the Avon Gorge above me. The walk was mostly through the woodlands of the Ashton Court estate and Leigh Woods (National Trust). I could see Clifton on the other side of the river and Clifton Suspension Bridge was ahead of me. It was amazing to see it from below. When standing right under the bridge it’s really hard to imagine HOW something like that is built!  When Brunel designed it he was told that it couldn’t be done. Sadly, he didn’t see it completed as he died 5 years before it was finished.

I continued walking past the bridge a short distance and turned up into Leigh Woods. It was hard to believe that this was part of a big city! I didn’t go very far as I wanted to get back, but this will definitely be a longer walk on another day.

The urgency to get back was mostly because of the football (and more expected rain!). I’m shocked at myself that I have suddenly become interested in football, but it’s also hard to avoid as the Euros 2020 (delayed a year) is HUGE news in the UK. I watched the whole thing and was SO happy that England won the semi-final against Denmark (sorry to my Danish friends!). I’m looking forward to Sunday’s final now against Italy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.