A Small Detour!

It was time to leave the campsite…for now. I will be back!  But I need to be home for a few days. I left Bristol about noon and on the way home I stopped at Dyrham Park (National Trust) which is only a short distance from the M4. I’ve passed it many times as it’s on the road that leads to Bath from the M4. But I’ve never visited and didn’t really know much about it.

I had a picnic lunch at the far end of the car park, away from all the other vehicles, looking out over a beautiful field and trees. I didn’t want to spend the whole afternoon here as I was eager to get home, but I did allow myself time to go on a short walk through the parkland - just enough to get this amazing view of the house. I will return on another day when I can afford a few hours to explore both the house and the grounds.

The house has been featured in many period dramas and films, even if only the outside. They include Poldark and Remains of the Day.

There's a statue of Neptune that I passed on my walk.  See Extra photo.  It reminded me of the news story from today, about Neptune appearing in a big wave along the south coast - in Newhaven in Sussex.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.