The second half of life..

By twigs

Snow!!

Lots of it!! There was only a thin smattering this morning when I had thought I might be able to get on the road and head out of the area but nooooo..... it soon started falling faster and thicker and it wasn't long before I resigned myself to at least one more day here. I kept myself hunkered down most of the day in the van (which actually gets very toasty warm) though by mid afternoon the need to stretch my legs and take the camera for a walk became quite pressing. I rugged up once more and stepped forth.
Snow was about 6-8 inches deep........a few cars on the road but essentially, the place was deserted. All, that is, except for a young couple who I passed walking 'out' and who, I noted were putting chains on their vehicle. When I returned some 20 odd minutes later and they were still putting chains on I went over and spoke to them. Turned ot they were heading to some accommodation in Tekapo but, on discovering the northern route to Tekapo was closed due to conditions, they continued down to the Waitaki Valley and came in from the south. As they'd driven further along the road the conditions had worsened hence they decided to put the chains on. I offered a hand but it very quickly became apparent that the chains were too small for the tyres. It turns out they'd only recently bought the chains and had made the purchase on the advice of a young shop assistant without ever trying them on the vehicle. Hearing this I was mightily pleased I made my chain purchase where and how I did - even if I haven't used them yet at least I know they'll fit! Anyway, these 2 youngsters said they'd continue slowly to Tekapo....until they found out the road from the south was now closed too. Hopefully they've found some accommodation in Twizel tonight.

I wonder what stories tomorrow will bring? This really is turning into an adventure to remember for a long time!

And today's pic? Just a phone pic taken through the van window when the snow was falling heavily this morning. Another white-out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.