The second half of life..

By twigs

High country sheep

The adventure continues, but the story will be brief.

Woke to a fine day, meaning it wasn't snowing or raining - no blue skies though, just, heavy clouds.  Breakfast was all but done when my 'neighbour' knocked on my door and offered to try to jump-start Gerty before he and his grandies went off fishing.  A little prepping then, helped by one of his grandsons, Gerty was hooked up........boom!  She started first go :D  As I'd discussed with L, if she started I wouldn't stop her but would pretty much immediately head away, and so it was.  Into Twizel to fuel up, dump station to dump grey water and get some fresh water then on the road south.  Yahoo!  It was very snowy on the roadsides and the road was all but clear so driving was slower, but easy.  Lots of stops of course (without actually stopping the engine) to take photos and I was surprised to find very little snow in Omarama, just 30kms away, and just a handful of kms further on towards the coast, no ground snow at all.  Incredible.  The remainder of the journey was pretty much driving......beautiful, sunny conditions now but evidence of the massive amount of rain that had fallen down here whilst we were being snowed in up there.

It seems the roads and passes are now all open and clear so I've decided that, so long as tomorrow brings no changes for the worse, I shall return over Arthur's Pass to visit the keas.  I just hope they're around this time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.