The second half of life..

By twigs

Te Ramaroa.....

...translates roughly as 'The Big Light'.........formerly Light Nelson.

It's been a 5 day (or rather, night!) festival and tonight was the 5th night so I wrapped up warm and headed to town.  What a wonderful celebration of light, art, community, creativity and fun.  I should have come earlier then I could have looked at more of the installations and revisited the ones I wanted to photograph on another visit.  Hey ho - lesson learned.  (I blame Wimbledon and the Euro final!)

This installation had me mesmerised though.......people could go to a website, add their names and a comment about about what they're doing to help protect or care for the planet.  There were, of course, those who added more than their own name.....I saw Greta Thunberg, David Attenborough and Chloe Swarbrick and I'm pretty sure at least two of these three weren't there.  I can't be sure Chloe Swarbrick though.  Great fun and a real buzz to see your own name being projected onto and scrolling it's way up the cathedral steps.  What a creative mind some people have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.