The second half of life..

By twigs

Lake Lyndon in snow

A very  pleasant drive from Weedons towards the West Coast over Arthur's Pass brought this totally unexpected scene.  There had been signs of a bit of snow as I began the climb into the hills, but nothing much.  Rounding the last bend immediately before Lake Lyndon I was stunned to see dozens of cars lining the road and dozens of people - kids and adults! - playing in what was a substantial amount of snow.  The views of course were stunning, but it was the playfulness of the whole scene that was the thrill (extras).

On then to the Otira viaduct carpark to meet some keas.............it seems they didnt' get my message that I was visiting as not one of them turned up :(  I think that may be three times I've been here recently to see them and three times they haven't been around.  Ah well - another time........or maybe I should start to look in another place?

An easy drive through to Greymouth then a little further north to this evening's stopping spot at Barrytown.  It's nice to hear the roar of the ocean again :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.