Combi31

By Combi31

Common Sandpiper

Thank you so much on the positive comments on my mediocre pic of yesterday - I will get around to thanking you all personally - this man-flu ain't gonna get me!

Can be seen Larger here.

Now, I'm relying on you for corrections here - I think it is a Common Sandpiper, Actitis hypoleucos, Chevalier Guignette in French, but I'm not 100% sure.

I went to a new place 1/2 an hour from home called Lac de Gouyre, which is a pretty nice place - there are even two observation huts that are open all the year round, which is great.

To be honest I wasn't feeling that great, but I got out and felt even worse in the sun - boy, was it warm today - man flu is always worse when the sun shines ...

At the lake is a huge heron nesting colony, which was being hassled by a group of kites - interestingly, the black kites appeared to be high up in the pecking order, flying low over the nests, followed by the red kites.

They were very persistent, so I would imagine that they take a fair few young herons.

I heard kingfishers and there was a huge scrap between grebes, over a female.

If this isn't a sandpiper, please do correct me - I'm here to learn as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.