Combi31

By Combi31

Great Crested Grebes

A pair of great crested grebes, Podiceps Cristatus, Grèbe Huppé in French.

See them bigger here.

Today started as spring, I managed to grab a photo of this pair at the lake then mowed the grass, just in time as winter came back this afternoon.

I took the dogs out to the forest behind my house, we have an area of garrigue, behind the house, a wild area with thick brush and brambles, where deer love to lie up during the day - I often see them feeding just behind our fence.

Norman, my Jack Russell fancies himself as a bit of a deer hound, he is always darting about the bushes getting the deer out - I managed a picture of one of the does bounding over a fence, but it looks a bit abstract due to a low shutter speed.

When we left it was dry, then it rained and we were all soaked, walking through the thigh high grass.
I wanted to get a photo of a cuckoo, but that wasn't to be - I could hear them, but didn't spot one.

Scooby, my Beauceron cross Belgian shepherd is optimistically sat on a sun lounger ... in the rain - the sun ain't coming back for a while though, according to the forecast :-/
Hope the sun is shining where you are and that you've had a good day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.