Good reading weather

One of the books I bought in the lovely bookshop in Penzance was ‘Sea of Tranquility’ by Emily St. John Mandel. I bought it because it sounded good, could be in line for the Booker longlist in a couple of weeks and I remembered reading a book of hers - ‘Station Eleven’ a number of years ago and really liking it. As I was buying the book the lady at the bookshop talked about both books and how she liked them and then said they were sort of linked and there was one in the middle - ‘Glass Hotel’ which had passed me by.

Now I have all three (I found a much-read copy of ‘Station Eleven’ on my shelves. Much read because I remember the family reading it and several friends too) and plan on reading/rereading the three in order. I enjoyed ‘Sea of Tranquility’, more SciFi than I would usually read, but very good nevertheless. Now I’m rereading ‘Station Eleven’ and loving it. It’s strange though - most of it is set in a time after a pandemic which wiped out most of the population. Published in 2014, it’s fascinating to read about the reaction to a pandemic that none of us then had any idea about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.