Look Up..Look Way Up....

...into that huge walnut tree at the back of my garden.....You never know what you will see up there...it is where woodpeckers peck, raccoons nap and squirrels scurry...and of course where all sorts of birds perch to survey their domain below...my bird feeders and my neighbour's fish pond! No wonder they all hang out here..We have everything they need...food, water and a canopy!  

This evening while meandering around the garden checking out what E had planted today, I could hear the woodpecker up there but he was too high up for me to see him...but just looking up into that canopy lit by the setting sun was uplifting and I thought it was worth a blip. 

(It also reminded me of an interesting book I had read recently - Harry's Trees, by Jon Cohen)

Other than wandering around my garden and admiring trees, the other main event of my day was watching the "January 6" Senate Hearing on CNN. (Yes, I now have TV again)... and that led to needing something to do whilst watching...why not knit rather than just sit? but knit what? 

I had recently dragged out one of my knitted shawls ( I have many...) as I needed something to fit over all these post-op loose-fitting clothes and that gave me an idea... Hmmm..I liked  how well the two different textured yarns had worked in it - a fuzzy one for the body and a silky matching one for the ruffle. It reminded me of two yarns I had bought ever so long ago on a trip to the UK and have never used.. I had joined a knitting buddy on a guided tour called  "Wool - the Fabric of Life"  - 12 days of sight-seeing and workshops related to all things wool..from Glasgow to London.. Along the way between destinations, we stopped at the Beckside Yarn shop in the village of Clapham in North Yorkshire..where I bought two lovely yarns that have been waiting patiently for my attention ever since...a boucle and a silky matching one..Perfect for that shawl pattern! At last they are put to use!  (extra)   

So..now I have yet another project on the go...I got a good start at it today (those hearings do go on for hours! )... and it felt good to have something new to work on. Sometimes I wish I was as good at finishing as I am at starting, but in this case, who cares? I have found something to keep me amused for a while and that is good in itself. If I manage to finish it someday?  Bonus! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.