Nursery delight

A friend and I enjoyed coffee and apple tart at the lovely Rose Garden restaurant in the grounds of my favourite nursery today. I love the colours of the ornamental cabbages and pansies in this artistically arranged flower bed.
I  have been remiss with my blips for the past few days, but will catch up.
Our electricity woes continue. On Sunday we decided to record the Mens Wimbledon final as there was a matinee of the show "'Kunene and the King'" at our Opera House. What an amazing show it was - John Kani who wrote and acted in the two man play was born in Port Elizabeth which made it extra special. He has achieved world fame for his plays, and also movies and TV. He remains true to his roots, and his plays are mainly about life and its problems in SA, but always with humour.
So our plan was to watch the recorded tennis match, but to our disappointment and frustration, the load shedding that was supposed to be finished when we got home, was not!!  Thirty two hours later some power was restored but so weak that a kettle couldn't even be boiled.
Finally on Tuesday late morning full power was restored!! It was only our village that was affected. As usual, the sub station had been vandalised, followed by an explosion which made things even worse. 
And the batteries in the inverter that we have to keep our TV going are flat and the other for the wifi is nearly flat. To make things worse batteries are in short supply, so...
Oh well. we just carry on. We were told that, because of the problems we had, we would not have load shedding for a couple of days, but, guess what, no power for two hours again!! So hopefully I will at least get this blip done while my one inverter still works for a short time.
The good news is that it's a beautiful sunny day, and I enjoyed taking Coda for a walk!!  And I got to see a repeat of the tennis at my sister's house on Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.