Dumfries House

Some friends were at Dumfries House last week and told us that it had changed a bit since we were last there some years ago.  We had a tour of the house then, but today decided to visit and walk in the estate.  We enjoyed it immensely, especially the walled garden, and we chatted quite a bit to the gardeners around, some of whom are volunteers.  The delphiniums are really wonderful, I have shown some in my collage.  There are a few features which have been added, for example summerhouses constructed by apprentices, etc and it was really interesting to see and read about them. 

We had taken sandwiches with us but had a coffee in the cafe, which was nice though very crowded, school holidays indeed.  Lots of children around and enjoying themselves at the adventure playground and in the maze.  I liked the Chinese Bridge so the HG took my photo there.

I uploaded an extra of a rose which I rather liked, and which was an unusual colour, I thought.

The weather was nice, lovely for walking around, but not overly sunny.  We are not experiencing the heatwave of the south at present, although the forecast for the weekend is for higher temperatures, but I am talking mid twenties only, not more thank goodness.  C travelled down for work today to London by train, and will have a couple of hot days I think.

We had a nice pudding tonight; ice cream and strawberries home grown by the HG.  Really lovely.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.