LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Upholstery…

I decided that since I no longer work in the corporate world, being strangled by the humdrum of a 9am till 6pm day, that I would look for some sort of creative thing to do a class in. I’ve always fancied upholstery so I found a little company in Leith and dropped them an email. I got a reply from Victoria saying they were booked up but did I want to go on the waiting list. Yup, I most certainly do.

I got an email last week saying a space was available and it was first come, first serve so I replied immediately and boom the place was mine. The utter joy of being able to do a course like this in daylight hours without having to take holidays is quite something. My life is full of joy these days and sometimes I have to pinch myself to believe I’m so far from that old hideous world I used to live in. I’m not sure they’ll ever know what a giant favour they did me. Hurrah!

I did wonder if this was perhaps too ambitious a project for my first go but I asked Victoria and she said ‘it’ll be a piece of piss’ so not only do I think she’s right up my street, I’m impressed with her faith in my abilities!

This is the ‘before’ photo… day 1 and my chair has been stripped and I can’t tell you how many staples were removed! We decided to leave the springs in the seat cause whilst it’s not the best workmanship, it’s not broken and is actually pretty comfy to sit in. Now I’m off to find just the right fabric… fortunately one of my other clients has a shop full of it so I’m popping in there for a visit tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.