The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Swan song for KP04

We've put down (gulp) a deposit for a second hand car that Steve has found and test driven a couple of times. He took me for a spin at lunchtime. I feel gutted about sending KP04, Octavia, to the scrapyard but she is about to fail her MOT again and require extensive work to keep her on the road. We've had her for 14 years, and she wasn't new when we bought her.

Now it's time for what Steve calls 'a lifestyle change ' which means having a smaller, less powerful car that runs on petrol and that we can't stuff quite as much junk into! I don't know how we will ever manage to go to the tip in a smaller car. Maybe less garden waste?

Steve put down the deposit when I got home from work, and the garages may be able to do the MOT and service tomorrow. It's odd, I haven't felt sentimental about a car since the far-off days of the Ford Consul Cortina of my childhood. I can't even drive, but we've been to some wonderful places in Octavia. Not in the last couple of years, because of CoVid, but before that we toured the West Country and the West of Scotland, and West Wales

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.