WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Lovely Evening

I had a busy day working on the mooring garden again. Digging up deep rooted thistles and weeds, which all come the field at the back. I finally got it all done and also sowed some seeds - winter spinach, lettuce and tarragon. Also potted two fuchsias. 
I had ballet and tap tonight for the first time in at least a month. Frank took me there in the car but later came to meet on foot with Bella and we walked back along the tow path.
Heavens was I stiff! I think I will have some joint and muscle aches tomorrow. I felt like I had gone back a step or two as my balance was not good and I couldn’t get my leg very high. Nevertheless I enjoyed it. There are only two more classes before summer hols.
The extra is Amelia (in purple) and her friend Abbie at the skating competition. They both did excellent!

192/365
Nighttime on the Canal

At the end of the day
when life slows down
I lie in my cabin bed
hearing the night sounds
the tawny owls hooting
across the tall trees
the rustling of leaves
in a gentle breeze
the creaking of wood
as it shrinks and settles
the boat as it scrapes
metal against metal
the oyster catchers
whee-wheee overhead
chasing off the owl
while I rest my weary head

~~~~~~~

Yesterday’s poem:

 191/365 
A Gardener’s Life

I like my garden a little bit wild
but I also like a bit of order
so the veg grows in neat raised beds
while flowers grow freely in the borders
I love to see creepy crawlies
living happily among the blooms
but I must keep an eye on the veggies
for pests I’m afraid there’s no room
I collect the slugs in a bucket 
and take them for a walk up the lane
then tip them out in the undergrowth
but I swear they come back again
Such is the life of a gardener
at keeping the balance we strive
Between nature and its challenges
Giving everything a chance to survive

Goodnight Blippers :-)X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.